The Serial Dater

“So, are you a serial dater?”  – Guy whom I dated on and off for a couple of months

It was a beautiful Saturday afternoon, a little on the hot side and I was definitely sweating, but great.  The sun was shining, I was at one with nature in a kayak on the Mississippi River, and I had a nice boy in the kayak with me.

I knew we’d probably talk about lots of random stuff during the two hour trip downstream, but nonetheless, this caught me off guard.  And that is rare.  You see, I have dated quite a few guys, and thus had been asked just about every question in the book.  Except for the serial dater question.

It felt more like an accusation than a question.  Immediately I related it to serial killer.  And that has a bad connotation.  Even if you separate it from the serial killer thing, it’s still a bit negative.  Serial to me means repeating over and over out of habit, with no real purpose.

While I have dated quite a few guys, it’s not out of habit.  I have gone a considerable amount of time in between dating guys because I found no one worth dating.  And there are times when one door opens just as another is closing.  I don’t have a huge purpose for dating, other than to have fun with someone who hopefully adds something positive to each day.

At the ripe age of 31, having been on the dating scene for roughly 13 years (I did not date in high school, which could be a topic on its own!), the odds are a single gal like me has probably dated a few guys.  And I am fine with that.  I would not change my life for anything.  Everything happens for a reason.

Sure, I’d like to meet the man of my dreams tomorrow.  Who wouldn’t?  But I’m not going to avoid dating completely for fear of getting my heart broken.  And I am not going to continue to date someone past the point when I realize we do not click.  If that makes me a serial dater, then so be it.  🙂

2 thoughts on “The Serial Dater

Leave a Reply

