Resolutions

My 2013 resolutions were quite successful. I did not resolve to do anything earth shattering, but a win is a win!

20140101-144212.jpg

Little could I have known how much of a leadership challenge I would face throughout 2013 when I wrote my resolutions. When our 49-year-old optometrist passed away in February, I dug down as deep as possible to find every ounce of strength to keep our Target Optical team going. I would not wish this situation on anyone, and yet I now have a vast new perspective on what being a leader truly means to others. I am always a work in progress, so number one on last year’s list will continue to be a priority for me.

I wore more nail polish and lipstick in 2013. That was a fun one. 🙂

And I took number three to the max! I became very involved with the chamber and engaged in more OneSight activities. I was even chosen for a OneSight mission to India in December 2014! Woot!

Jag did pretty well with his resolutions also. I tried to sit and read more often, prompted by his immediate plopping into my lap whenever I finally sit down at night. He has cut back on plant eating and now gives Gabriel and Lucy several minutes before he hisses, runs away, or both.

Today I ponder the year ahead and create a few new resolutions (with some Kevin Nealon-esque subliminal thoughts):
1. Blog every week. (And actually post what I write.)
2. Send more snail mail. (Nice timing with the postage rate going up. Just a few pennies here and there though, which is nothing compared to the money I spend on Starbucks.)
3. Get my ABO – American Board of Optometry – certification. (Stop making excuses for not taking the exam! My life will always be busy.)

Following through on my resolutions will hopefully help me to channel a creative outlet for myself, keep in touch with friends and family, and continue to challenge myself professionally.

Here’s to all of our successes with this year’s resolutions!

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

