Happy Earth Day!

Today is Sunday, April 22, 2012.  It is Earth Day!

I felt like I sufficiently did my part on Earth Day 2005.  That was when I taught preschool at Stepping Stones Learning Center in Pearland, Texas.  I planned our activities that day for weeks.

I knew I HAD to make dirt cups with the kids, since that was the coolest thing I remembered doing for Earth Day during my entire childhood.  Forget the trees; just bring on the cool food.  😉

Dirt cups are made of crushed oreos, instant pudding, and gummy worms.  One must bury the worms well and then introduce the cups correctly.  I told the kids we were going to eat dirt with worms in it.  About half of them did what I had done as a child: They looked at me with horror.  I could see their expressions telling me, “I thought you were a nice teacher, Miss Melissa, but I guess I was so wrong about that.”

Then I hand sketched an Earth Day coloring book with easy to draw pictures for me that showed them what they could do to help the earth at their ripe young ages of four and five years old.  “Plant Trees”, “Pick Up Your Trash”, and “Recycle” were a few of them.  I no longer have a copy, thanks to my need to purge things when I last moved.

The best part of that preschool day was listening to the kids tell their parents about everything as they left at the end of the day.

So what do I do now?  I love the earth, but I don’t always recycle.  I leave the water running when I brush my teeth.

I do turn lights off more than I used to.  I do try to support businesses who do their part for the environment.

As with many facets of my life, I am a work in progress when it comes to taking care of the earth.

Leave a Reply

