Fall Is Here!

Today is the first day of fall 2011.  Woot!  We might as well embrace it because fall is here whether we like it or not.

I remember moving back to Iowa just over five years ago, on September 9, 2006.  While I enjoyed the Houston weather most of the time, I forgot how beautiful fall is in Iowa.  The colors actually change here!

I remind myself of that when I am on a county blacktop and stuck behind farm equipment moving at 20 miles per hour.  And I remind myself of the beautiful scenery even when I can’t see it while driving during early evening after we fall back to standard time.

Crisp fall air greeted me this morning as I headed out to my car, and I ran the defrost just a little bit to clear off Smurfette’s windows.  There’s something cozy about being cold and then welcoming that blast of warm air.

Fall ushers in falling leaves, great football, and new episodes of my favorite TV shows.  Winter is around the corner, but let’s not worry about that now.  Fall is here!

Leave a Reply

