Downtown Davenport Adventures: The Loop

How many of us say we want a good public transportation system but then neglect to use what we have?  My hand is in the air.  So, in that spirit – and in the spirit of not wanting to drive all of the time – I decided to try out The Loop this summer.

The Loop hits the major metro hot spots in downtown Davenport, Bettendorf, Moline, and Rock Island.  It has limited hours – mostly evenings and weekends.  It costs $1 a trip or $3 unlimited for the day.  They have a schedule of stops which I have neglected to save or print for use.  I will be doing this soon.

My first adventure on The Loop was to The Grape Life in Rock Island to wine it up with some friends.  I waited at the Adler Theater stop and managed to catch it going directly to Rock Island.  Two routes run simultaneously, clockwise and counterclockwise.

$9 Wine Flight = Bliss

When going home, I took the scenic route through Moline and Bettendorf before hitting home.  The most recent upgrade to The Loop system is being able to pull the cord to be let off anywhere along the route.  You can also take your chances and try to flag The Loop down at any spot along the route, but to me that is a lot of effort for not living in NYC.

My second Loop adventure was in late August and proved to be not as rewarding as the first.  The trip from Davenport to Moline was great, and I arrived within 10 minutes of when I intended to arrive – without a schedule, at that!  But when I jumped on The Loop in downtown Moline sometime between 12:30 a.m. and 1:00 a.m., I discovered I missed the final Davenport stop for the night.  See, I briefly glanced at the last stop on the schedule earlier in the evening.  When I read 1:15 a.m., I didn’t think to read any further as to what location that was.

I took the loop to Bettendorf so I would at least be on the Iowa side of the river.  Then I called a cab and waited outside of the Isle for a good 20 minutes.  When I arrived in front of my door, I shelled out $15 for the ride.  Grrr.  Totally defeated the purpose of The Loop.  The icing on the cake was being out of cash and having to withdraw from the ATM across the street prior to paying the cabbie.  Yep, charged to take out my own money.  Pet peeve 99 of mine.

But I can’t blame this on The Loop.  I must be more diligent with my mastery of The Loop schedule.  And if you are going to have a few drinks, any cab inconvenience is way better than driving when you shouldn’t.  I’ll be promoting The Loop all I can.  Just make sure you know the schedule.

Leave a Reply

