My Daddy

In honor of Fathers’ Day, I’m reminded of all my dad Mike has taught me.  I also can’t help but think of that book based on a blog “S*it my Dad Says”.  (Warning: this contains a few four letter words.)  As our parents get older, it seems they get more vocal about their opinions and less worried about what others will think of them.  Some of these are lessons and tidbits of advice; others are opinions.

1.  Work hard and smart.

2.  Embrace the redhead cliches.

3.  Let all of the drunks drive on the roads after 2:00 a.m., and have everyone else stay put.  Then they only harm themselves or one another.

4.  Legalize prostitution and drugs.  Then tax the hell out of them.  Budget crisis solved.

5.  Don’t spend what you don’t have.

6.  Date: sometime during mid-1988.  Location: Ossian, Iowa.  Random chatter.  Me: “We had a classroom election for president last week.”  Dad: “Who did you vote for?”  Me: “Michael Dukakis.”  Dad: “Oh, Melissa. Let me tell you the difference between Democrats and Republicans.”

7.  Don’t waste your time trying to impress others.  Let your actions speak for themselves.

I could keep going, but you get the idea.  My dad is awesome!

Melissa Sue and Daddy

Leave a Reply

