Fridays with G: Making Room for L

Fridays with G will never be the same again.

First, there’s this hiatus with Sarah, G’s mom, being on maternity leave after the birth of little Lucy and me feeling an obligation to pitch in at optical on Fridays since it’s one of our busiest days.  So, Fridays are sometimes Thursdays or Tuesdays, or even Sundays now.  We will go back to Fridays in a few more weeks though.

lucy
Sweet little Lucy

Second, and more crucial, is the presence of a little sister with G now.  The boy adores Lucy.  It’s amazing how a big brother can be so protective even when he is not quite two years old.  But you shouldn’t be surprised because by now I should have conveyed to you just how exceptional G is.  🙂  G always needs to know where Lucy is, and when he and his mom went to her bassinet yesterday morning to find her not there (Sarah knew where she was), G had a look of horror on his face.  Then they found her with Daddy and all was well.

While G loves his little sister, he now has to share his parents, and also Aunt Mel.  He seems to be adjusting well, so the young age is a good thing.  I, on the other hand, was six years old when my sister was born.  It took me a little while to change my ways of expecting to be the center of attention.

Because of my personal experience, I have decided to try to get a little bit of one on one time with G here and there.  When Lucy had her first doctor check up at three days old, I met Sarah, Jeremiah, G, and L at Target.  Of course I had to be there for Lucy’s first trip to Target!

baby, Target

Gabriel, fire truck
G making himself at home at Target! This is his new big brother toy from his mommy and daddy - a new fire truck. Or, as G would say, woo-woo-woo-woo!

Then, when the others went to see the doctor, G and I played at Middle Park in Bettendorf.  I managed to get a sunburn, but it was totally worth it.

Gabriel, park

After we all had a picnic lunch, we parted ways and G and I continued on with our Friday in separate places.  I can’t wait to watch both G and L on Fridays soon.  If people thought I was a humorous site with one kid, I can only imagine how it will be with two.  Then again, I will have double the stories.

godchildren
Lucy and Gabriel, my godchildren. I am looking forward to Fridays with both of them soon!
Leave a Reply

