The Value in After Hours

As I was driving home from Jersey Grille in Davenport Tuesday night, I thought about how I almost turned down an invitation to go out for drinks after the Scott County Republican Central Committee meeting.  (Yes, Republicans have fun too!)

I had laundry to fold, a checkbook to balance, and various other things waiting for me to do at my apartment.  I had to get up early the next day and drive to Durant for my church lady job.  But I’d just been elected as a precinct chair and secretary, and it had been way too long since some quality Grey Goose had touched my lips.

So, I went.  It was supposed to be for only one drink.  Ha ha.  I can count on one hand the number of times I have gone out for one drink.  I don’t make a habit of getting sloshed.  I just get caught up in great conversation, so one drink turns in to two, and then I have a final drink to keep even with someone across the table.

I’m glad I took the time to socialize a bit more, and I used to do this more often.  I enjoy the after hours socializing, because walls come down and you uncover the off the record things that paint the whole picture of who someone is.

Going back to my New Year’s Resolutions (which seem to have been created forever ago), #6 and #7 illustrate the need to socialize more.  And now that I live in downtown Davenport, it requires much less effort.  Win-Win!

2 thoughts on “The Value in After Hours

  1. Pingback: Gigasphere

Leave a Reply

