An Ode to Year 32

On Sunday I will flip from year 31 to 32.  How did I get to be this old?!  Yeah, yeah.  I know age is relative.  Anyone older than 32 reading this is thinking, “Ah, to be 32 again!”

But, really, where did the time go?  Some days I feel like I should be 22 again, just graduating from college and beginning to explore.  That’s probably because I’m still finding my calling in life and am continuing to learn more than I thought I would need to learn at this age.

Jane Fonda was on Oprah recently and described her 30s as the time when she was just starting to figure things out.  And in Sex and the City, the girls learned a lot in their 30s.

Maybe that’s why I don’t freak out about being 32 and single and not absolutely sure about where my life is headed.  I love being in my 30s.  I enjoy my independence.  I am thrilled to uncover new adventures.

Age is just a number.  Everything else is up to us.  I’m completely comfortable with not wanting to party until 3:00 a.m. every weekend.  I like having a few good life experiences under my belt, while looking forward to many more.  It’s nice to know what I do and do not want from a relationship.  The only thing I’d like to get back from my younger years is the ability to eat anything and not gain a pound.

This past year led me through a couple of career changes, a couple of dating adventures, and learning who’s truly in my wolf pack.  (Sorry, had to insert a little bit of Hangover humor.)

I can’t wait to see what this next year brings.  I’m sure I will continue to have my moments when I make bad judgment calls and feel like I should have more money in the bank or more to show for myself in general.  But when that happens, I will look at all of the things I have that you can’t put a price tag on – things like fabulous friends, an open mind, and the conviction to stand up for what I think is right.

And happy birthday to Elizabeth Taylor and Chelsea Clinton, who share my February 27 birthday!

Leave a Reply

